

Board of Trustee Meeting Bonita Marley Community Room April 4, 2022

**Members in attendance**: Steve Saucerman, Lynn Adams, Ashley Duke, Debbie Schneider, Jane Amos, and Don Stultz.

#### Not in attendance: Steve Oschman

Also attending: Representing the staff was Diane Huerkamp - Executive Director, Sandra Osborn - Deputy Director, and Steve Wakolbinger - Business Manager.

#### Guest: Doug McCoy

**President- Steve Saucerman** opened the meeting with the Pledge of Allegiance at 4:01 p.m. There was a quorum with six (6) members present.

#### **Public Inquiry/Comments:**

• None

## Secretary's Report:

Minutes of March 7, 2022 meeting were presented for approval. A motion to approve the minutes as written, was made by Debbie Schneider. Ashley Duke seconded the motion and the motion was carried unanimously.

#### Financial Committee:

• Ashley Duke presented the claims for the month of March 2022, in the amount of \$ 55,340.66, plus three payrolls totaling \$ 24370.36 and payroll liabilities in the amount of \$ 13,169.42. Ashley Duke made a motion to approve all March claims and payrolls as submitted. The motion was seconded by Lynn Adams and it was unanimously approved.

## Policy Committee:

- The Materials Selectin Policy for MPL had its second reading. Debbie Schneider made a motion to approve. The motion was seconded by Jane Amos and it was unanimously approved with no changes. The Materials Challenge Packet was reviewed and had no changes. Lynn Adams made a motion to approve. The motion was seconded by Don Stultz and it was unanimously approved
- Diane Huerkamp reviewed the State Standards with the Policy Committee. The Committee was presented to share that MPL remains in **Good Standing** and MPL practices all the procedures and follows all Indiana and Administrative Codes set by the Indiana State Library.

## **Building Committee:**

- See Librarian's Report page 5 & 6.
- Building Committee recommended replacing the entire fire suppression system pipes and add nitrogen in the children's area and 5 bids were reviewed. Lynn Adams made a motion to



award Orr Protection to upgrade the fire suppression system (not to exceed \$106,991.00). The motion was seconded by Steve Saucerman and it was unanimously approved.

- Steve Saucerman made a motion to award Pollard Electric to install a new 220 service 20amp breaker in the electrical panel (not to exceed \$1,750.00), after reviewing 4 bids. The motion was seconded by Ashley Duke and it was unanimously approved.
- The MPL General Repairs document lists a long list of repair items (such as painting the yellow barriers around the drop box, repair the enclosure around the trash container, etc.). A motion to hire Bernard Huerkamp as a general maintenance subcontractor at a rate of \$15.00 / hr. (he will provide his own tools). Steve Saucerman made a motion to approve. The motion was seconded by Don Stultz and it was unanimously approved.

## **Technology Committee:**

- Diane Huerkamp informed the Board that Rex Burton had successfully orchestrated a major IT system migration, which included 7 switches, several hubs, pulling over 300 feet of new cable, and reconnecting over 50 devices this took over a 3 days to complete. This project has made our network infrastructure up-to-date and will be much more stable in the years to come.
- See Librarian's Report page 4 & 5 for more IT projects.

## **Evaluation Committee**,

• No Report

## **Old Business:**

• Diane Huerkamp discussed the continual decrease in the number of COVID-19 cases in Morgan County.

# <u>New Business:</u>

- The 1<sup>st</sup> Quarter PLAC Report was signed by President Steve Saucerman and Director Diane Huerkamp.
- Diane Huerkamp and Sandra Osborn summarized a number of items in the Librarians Report.
- Sandra Osborn attended an ILF conference March 21<sup>st</sup> thru 25<sup>th</sup> and brought back several new ideas,

## Adjournment:

Steve Saucerman adjourned the meeting at 4:45 pm.

The next scheduled meeting is Monday, May 2 at 4:00 p.m.

Respectfully submitted by Steve Wakolbinger, April 4, 2022.

Debbie Schneider, Secretary